Steph Curry and his final second attempt against the Clippers: foul or no foul?

Steph Curry and his final second attempt against the Clippers: foul or no foul?

Real time web analytics, Wordpress visitor counter, Wordpress visitor tracking

 

In the closing seconds of last night’s game three between the Los Angeles Clippers and the Golden State Warriors, Steph Curry had the ball in his hands to either tie or win the game.

Curry went for the dagger, and attempted a step back three-pointer while he was being closely guarded by Chris Paul. Curry wound up on the ground, the shot hit nothing but air and the Clippers escaped with a 98-96 road win to take a 2-2 advantage in the series.

But was Curry fouled? You be the judge:

 

curry1

It sure looks like Paul is driving a lot of forearm into Curry’s hip, which would surely have an impact on the shot attempt.

Golden State coach Mark Jackson argued with officials after the game, and said later at his press conference that Curry had no room to land—which shooters are supposed to be able to do if they jump up and down.

Curry, to his credit, didn’t blame the refs, saying the play was a “50/50 call.” He had 16 points and 15 assists for the Warriors, who clearly miss the presence of big man Andrew Bogut (rib fracture).